Guild Of Food Writers Awards 2013 Call For Entries

Entries are now being accepted for the 2013 Guild of Food Writers Awards. In addition to a beautifully engraved glass trophy, the winning entry in each category will receive a prize of £500.

The Guild of Food Writers Awards were established in 1996 and are presented in recognition of outstanding achievements in food writing and broadcasting. The awards remain the only ones that are judged entirely by entrants' peers: professional food writers, journalists and editors.

Full details are now available at and the Awards entry form can be downloaded from the site.

There are 14 awards:
Cookery Book of the Year Award (Sponsored by Thermomix)
Derek Cooper Award for Campaigning and Investigative Food Writing
Evelyn Rose Award for Cookery Journalist of the Year
Food Blog of the Year Award (Sponsored by British Lion Eggs)
Food Book of the Year Award
Food Broadcast of the Year Award
Food Journalist of the Year Award
Food Magazine or Section of the Year Award (Sponsored by Tenderstem®)
Jeremy Round Award for Best First Book
Kate Whiteman Award for Work on Food and Travel (Sponsored by the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute and the State of Alaska)
Michael Smith Award for Work on British Food
Miriam Polunin Award for Work on Healthy Eating
New Media Award
Restaurant Reviewer of the Year Award (Sponsored by Ferrarelle)

The Guild is still seeking sponsors for the non-sponsored categories; please email if you are interested in finding out more.

The closing date for forms to reach the administrator is Wednesday 20 February 2013 and all materials must be with the members of the juries by Friday 1 March 2013.

The winners of each prize will be announced at the Guild of Food Writers Awards ceremony on Wednesday 29 May 2013 at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London W1B 1AD.

A memorable canapé menu has been developed for the menu with the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute (, to showcase wonderful sustainable wild seafood. The Guild is thrilled that Alaska Seafood has agreed to be the main sponsor for the Awards for the sixth year running.

For further information please contact:
Jonathan Woods
The Guild of Food Writers
255 Kent House Road, Beckenham, Kent BR3 1JQ
You can follow the Guild on Twitter at


Popular posts from this blog

Jurançon Sweet White Wine Grape Harvest Begins

A recipe for perfect Yorkshire pudding

A simple Chicken forestiere